ASD Cyber Skills Framework

MCSI Certifications Are Aligned To The Australian Signals Directorate Cyber Skills Framework

MCSI Certifications are world-class. The content is cutting-edge, uniquely-designed, hands-on and challenging. Our exercises teach in-demand skills that are immediately applicable in the field. MCSI's unique approach helps students around the world advance their careers.

Our curriculums are comprehensive and aligned to the Australian Signals Directorate (ASD) Cyber Skills Framework. A single certification helps students grow from the Learner level in a domain, all the way to Expert Practitioner.

ASD Cyber Skills Framework

The Australian Signals Directorate (ASD) released the ASD Cyber Skills Framework v.1.0 in July 2019 as an iterative framework designed to be used as a tool to assess, maintain and monitor the skills, knowledge and attributes of the ASD cyber workforce.

The ASD Cyber Skills Framework enables targeted recruitment of cyber specialists, provides a development pathway for current and future cyber staff and aligns skills, knowledge and attributes with national and international industry standards.

The ASD Cyber Skills Framework maps to six (6) different proficiency levels:

  • Level 1: Learner (Knowledge)
  • Level 2: Novice (Understand)
  • Level 3: Practitioner (Apply)
  • Level 4: Senior Practitioner (Enable)
  • Level 5: Principal Practitioner (Advise)
  • Level 6: Expert Practitioner (Initiate, enable and ensure)

The ASD Cyber Skills Framework covers the following roles:

  • Cyber Security Advice and Assessment
  • Incident Responder
  • Malware Analyst
  • Penetration Tester
  • Vulnerability Researcher
  • Cyber Threat Analyst
  • Operations Coordinator
  • Vulnerability Assessor

MCSI recognizes there are many more roles cybersecurity than the eight (8) outlined in the ASD Cyber Skills Framework. Therefore, we have applied the six proficiency levels developed by the ASD all our certification programmes.


The table table showcases an MCSI certification that covers all six levels of the Australian Signals Directorate's Cyber Skills Framework. Students receive a certificate upon reaching each level. This example is taken from the MPT - Certified Penetration Tester Certification.

ASD Skills Proficiency Level Curriculum Completion Requirement Scenarios Completion Requirement
MCSI Penetration Testing Learner Level 1 0% 0%
MCSI Novice Penetration Tester Level 2 20% 0%
MCSI Penetration Testing Practitioner Level 3 50% 10%
MCSI Senior Penetration Testing Practitioner Level 4 70% 25%
MCSI Certified Penetration Tester (Expert) Level 5 80% 50%
MCSI Certified Principal Penetration Testing Practitioner Level 6 95% 75%
Table - Example of MCSI's alignment to the ASD Cyber Skills Framework


We'll respond within 24 hours

Visit our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) page for answers to the most common questions we receive.